Posted in Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

One of my favorite things, in the whole wide world is pumpkin.  No, seriously. I love it so much that you could even ask someone I’ve only had a couple of conversations with, and they could tell you, pumpkin would be on my list of favorite things. It’s almost embarrassing. 😉

I remember the first time I  bit into a pumpkin chocolate chip cookie, I was around the age of 13, and my older sister was making them. From the first moment I tasted it, I knew…it was true love. I then proceeded to eat every last one in that cookie jar! And let me tell you, I still have no regrets about that decision.*cue smirking*

20161012_164117

These are not all that unlike the ones I had that day. The difference you ask? Well, I’d be glad to tell you. Because of my eating restrictions, and the eating restrictions of the people around me, I wanted to make these work for both me and many of them. So, after some trial and error, I’ve managed to make these both gluten-free and vegan!  Not to mention they’re also very easy to make. 🙂

I hope these bring as much warmth to your table as they did to mine.

Gluten Free, Vegan Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies-              

Dry Ingredients-

  • 3 C. Oat Flour (can easily make this at home, with your choice of unflavored, GF oats+ a food processor, or blender)
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice (or 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, dash of cloves, and a dash of allspice)
  • 1 C. White Sugar
  • 1/2 C. Dark Brown Sugar (can use agave instead, just add with wet ingredients +increase cooking time by 5-10 min. It will make them bigger, but less fluffy)

Wet Ingredients-

  • 1 Tb. Cornstarch, mixed with 3 Tb. Water
  • 1 C. Pumpkin Puree
  • 1/2 C. Vegetable Oil
  • 1/4 C. Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 C. Vegan Chocolate Chips

Directions-

Preheat oven to 350°, and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl mix together all the dry ingredients, then create a well in the middle, like so.

oat-flour

Place all the wet ingredients, except the chocolate chips in the ‘well’, and mix with wooden spoon until just blended. Then gently fold in Chocolate Chips.

Scoop heaping tablespoon fulls of dough on prepared sheets, and bake for about 20-25 minutes.

Let cool on sheet for a couple of minutes, before moving to a cookie sheet to cool fully.

Makes: 2 Dozen Cookies
Leave a Reply

