Posted in Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian

Chocolate Pudding

Chocolate. It’s the hot comfort on a cold night. It’s the emotional wreck’s best friend. It can be sweet. It can be bitter. It’s the cold joy on a hot summers day. It’s happiness for the taste-buds, and I love it! 😀

I remember as a kid absolutely loving those pudding cups you can get at the store, you know the ones. They were always silky smooth, and sweet. And had a cooling sensation as it slip down your throat with ease. It was always a cause of excitement in my house, since my parents rarely bought them. My mama had a liking for using the word “healthy”, and I had no idea what the definition was, except it usually meant I was going to be snacking on that carrot stick instead of that amazing looking cookie, or in this case, pudding cup.

20161107_154516-edited-2

As I got older, I began to understand what healthy meant, but my love for pudding never changed. I still have the ability to put away 5 little packages of pudding with no help from anyone else. That is where my inspiration for this recipe came from.

Pudding is not a filling food, that’s just a given for most people. But, I, in order not to gain 85 Ib. this year, thought perhaps I could make an equally delicious pudding, that was a little more filling, so that the needing to eat so much pudding could be crossed out.

20161107_154238-2-edited-2

Enter protein powder. I was hoping that by using extra protein it should do the trick, however I was nervous about the taste of protein powder would take over, as it seems to have a knack at doing so. After a little trial and error, I was finally able to make one that has 5 grams of protein per serving, compared to the 1 gram, that the prepackaged one has. Not a lot more, but it was enough to satisfy me, as I hope it does for you as well.

It’s a simple recipe, and I was thankfully able to figure out my way to make it vegan, while keeping the creaminess intact! 🙂

Chocolate Pudding-

Ingredients:

  • 2 C. + 3 Tb. Almond/or Coconut Milk
  • 2 Scp./approx. 46 g. Vegan Chocolate Protein Powder (I used Orgain’s Creamy Chocolate Fudge)
  • 3 Tb. Cornstarch
  • 1 Tb. Cocoa Powder
  • 1/3 C Stevia/ or Liquid Sweetener (e.g. agave, or honey if not making it vegan)
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Directions-

In a saucepan whisk together 2 cups milk and protein powder on med-low heat, stirring occasionally.

In a small bowl mix together cornstarch, 3 Tb milk, and cocoa powder (this helps ensure your pudding to be smooth).

Once your protein milk is hot, add vanilla extract, sweetener and cornstarch mixture. Slowly whisk on low heat, for about 10 minutes, until you can see it’s thickened and has come to a slow boil . Keeping in mind that it will thicken a little bit as it cools, but not a lot.

Take off heat. Eat warm, or store covered, in fridge for up to 3 days.

Makes: 4, 1/2 cup servings.
Leave a Reply

