Posted in Gluten Free

Peppermint Twists

Christmastime is here! And, with that winter is just around the corner, or as I (and many others) like to call it, minter!!! Minter is here ya’ll!!!! 😀

As you probably already figured out, I’m a big fan of mint. But, more specifically, I’m a big fan of peppermint. It’s one of those flavors that ushers me into the Christmas spirit, and makes me want to sing “falalalala-lalala” at the top of my lungs..like a crazy person… 😉

img_0108-edited

Now, I don’t know about you, but when I think about Christmas, I think about certain traditions, and memories. Like decorating a magnificent green tree that smells out-of-this-world amazing. Or sitting by the fire, with wrapping paper still covering the floor from opening presents earlier in the day, sipping my mama’s hot cocoa, just listening to my family talk and laugh. And, I think about the constant making of Christmas cookies, and how great the house smells during that time.

img_0100-edited-frosty

So, with that in mind, I thought I’d stay true to my name, and pass on a gluten-free Christmas cookie recipe, that I’ve been working on for a while.

I hope you get to share these with loved ones, and some amazing hot cocoa. ❤

Gluten-Free Peppermint Twists-

Wet Ingredients-

  • 1 C. Butter, at room temperature
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Tsp. Peppermint Extract
  • Approx. 1 tsp. Red Food Dye (if your out, you can try about 1/2 tsp. pink dye, and a heaping 1/2 tsp. black, you’ll have a retro red color.)

Dry Ingredients-

  • 1 C. Powdered Sugar
  • 2 C.  GF, Oat Flour
  • 1 C. Brown Rice Flour (I used Bob’s Redmill brand)
  • 1/4 C. Cornstarch
  • 1 Tsp. Baking Soda 
  • 1/2 Tsp. Salt

Directions-

In a large bowl, cream butter. Then beat in the egg until light and fluffy. mix in powdered sugar, as well as both the vanilla and peppermint extract. 

In a medium bowl, mix together the rest of the dry ingredients, until you don’t see many lumps. 

Slowly stir in half the flour mixture to the wet. Once just combined, mix in the other half of flour mixture. 

Split dough in half, being careful to get exactly half (I recommend weighing each round of dough). 

Roll one of the halves in to a big ball, then flatten a little bit, and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate.

In a medium bowl (I used the one that was previously my flour bowl),with the other half of dough, mix in red food dye, keeping in mind that the color of your dough will be just slightly less vibrant when baked. Start of with about a teaspoon of dye, and go by eye from there. 

Take your round ball of dough, roll it, flatten it, then wrap it in plastic wrap, and refrigerate the dough over night. 

On a lightly floured (using oat flour) surface, weigh out 13 pieces of dough per color, to about 1 oz. each. You should end up having 26 pieces of dough total. I would recommend keeping the pieces you’re not working on in the fridge, as it’s easier to work with when it’s chilled. 

Take one piece of the none colored, and roll it into a little snake, then take a red colored one, and do the same, trying to keep it the same size as the previous. Then, take one end of each and gently press a small section together, and proceed to twist on color over the other. Being careful as too much twisting and it’ll break. 

Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet (the cookies should be about an inch apart). And repeat with the rest of dough. 

Place cookie sheets in the fridge for about 15 minutes. 

Preheat oven to 350°. Bake cookies on the middle rack for about 15-18 minutes. The bottom should be light brown. 

Let cool on cookie sheets, and enjoy! 😀

Makes: A Bakers Dozen (13 cookies)
Leave a Reply

