Posted in Vegan, Vegetarian

Easy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are slightly crisp around the edges and soft + chewy on the inside.

img_0547-edited

There’s just something so special about having a warm cookie fresh from the oven. I’m not sure what it is I love most about it…perhaps the gooeyness the melted chocolate chips provide. Maybe it’s the aroma that fills the air as they bake and cool. Or perhaps, it’s the sweet little memories they evoke for me.

img_0569-edited-2

When I think of chocolate chip cookies, I see my mother scooping freshly baked cookies onto a rack.

I see my older sister getting upset with me, for swiping some dough from the baking bowl, using my finger, as I just so happened to pass by the kitchen……okay, fine. I smelled cookies and had to investigate. 😉

I see a pile of cookies stacked high on a plate in the middle of the table, and knowing if I didn’t go for it at that very moment, my brothers would definitely eat everything on the plate, before I got the chance to get a single cookie. As a kid, who loved sugar (because, who doesn’t?) I will tell you, that the adrenaline rush was in fact, very real.

img_0534-edited

So, it’s no surprise that when I went vegan, one of the first “missions” I set out on, was to find a vegan cookie recipe, that wasn’t ridiculously complicated. As I believe baking cookies should be a more relaxing activity, rather than a chore.

After many trials + errors, I finally managed to create a cookie recipe, that comes out wonderfully every time, and doesn’t have too many ingredients that leave you going “who has that stocked in their kitchen all the time?”. So, whether you’ve been baking vegan for a long time, or are perhaps trying to make something to add as a vegan option for a get together, this recipe is for you. 😀

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies-

Wet Ingredients-

  • 1/4 C. Vegan Butter, at room temperature (I used Earth Balance)
  • 3/4 C. Brown Sugar (I like to use dark, but light does work too.)
  • 3/4 C. White Sugar
  • 3 Tb. Non-Dairy Milk (I used almond)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Dry Ingredients-

  • 2 1/4 C. All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 2 C. Vegan Chocolate Chips

Directions-

Preheat oven to 350°, and line two baking sheets with parchment paper, or silicone baking mats

In a large bowl beat butter, oil, and both sugars together, until smooth. Bet in milk and vanilla. 

Add flour, baking soda (I recommend sprinkling it over the bowl a bit, to ensure there’s no baking soda clumps in the dough), and salt to wet ingredients, and gently stir together. 

Fold in chocolate chips.

Optional: refrigerate dough for an hour or two. You don’t have to do this, but your cookies will be a bit thinner than pictured above, if you don’t refrigerate. But they do taste good either way. 🙂

Scoop tablespoonfuls, onto the prepared cookie sheets, keeping them about 2 inches apart. Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until the edges start to brown. Watch carefully during the last couple minutes, if the tops brown too much, once they cool, they’ll be hard. You want the bottoms browned, but take them out before the tops do. 

Let cool on pans for around 2 minutes, before transferring to cookie sheets (or your mouth 😉 ) to cool completely. 

Makes:  Around 2 1/2 Dozen Cookies
2 thoughts on “Easy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

